The rising stars of Australian athletics, including four debutants from last year’s Olympic Games, will compete at the 29th Summer Universiade this August, with Athletics Australia today confirming the track and field team bound for Taipei.

Headlining the 2017 athletics team are Rio Olympians Michelle Jenneke (The University of Sydney, 100m hurdles), and Matthew Denny (Griffith University Gold Coast, discus and hammer throw), who all won medals in Gwangju two years ago.
Also selected in the team is fellow 2016 Olympian Jenny Blundell (The University of Sydney, 1500m, 5000m) with seven track and field athletes competing for the Australian Uniroos at their second consecutive World University Games.
In the field events, Taryn Gollshewsky (Central Queensland University) and Nicola McDermott (The University of Sydney) return for action in the discus throw and high jump respectively.

2015 world championships representative Nicholas Hough (The University of Sydney) starts in the men’s 110m hurdles, along with Angus Armstrong (The University of Sydney, pole vault) and Kyle Cranston (Australian Catholic University, decathlon).
Lora Storey (The Australian College of Physical Education) will compete in the women’s 800m after a stunning victory in the women’s two lap race at the 2017 Australian Athletics Championships, with national long jump champion Chris Mitrevski (RMIT University) also set to make his Uniroos debut.

Read more about the athletics team selection here.

2017 Australian Summer Universiade Athletics Team

MEN (24):
100m Rohan Browning (The University of Sydney), Jin Su Jung (The University of Sydney)
200m Rohan Browning
800m Steve Knuckey (RMIT University)
1500m Adam Pyke (The University of Melbourne), Isaac Hockey (The University of Melbourne)
10,000m Bryce Anderson (University of Canberra), Riley Cocks (Flinders University)
110m Hurdles Nicholas Hough (The University of Sydney)
High Jump Joseph Baldwin (The University of Melbourne)
Pole Vault Angus Armstrong (The University of Sydney), Stephen Clough (The University of Western Australia)
Long Jump Chris Mitrevski (RMIT University), Liam Adcock (The University of Queensland)
Discus Throw Matthew Denny (Griffith University Gold Coast)
Hammer Throw Matthew Denny
Javelin Throw Liam O’Brien (The University of Queensland), William White (The University of Queensland)
Decathlon Kyle Cranston (Australian Catholic University)
Half Marathon Dylan Evans (The University of Tasmania)
4x100m relay Jin Su Jung,Rohan Browning, Simon Greig (The University of Queensland), Nicholas Bate (The University of Newcastle), Nicholas Hough (Reserve)
4x400m relay Daniel Mowen (The University of Queensland), Taylor Burns (Queensland University of Technology), Tristan Robinson (The University of Melbourne), Harrison Roubin (Deakin University)
WOMEN (24)
800m Lora Storey (The Australian College of Physical Education), Georgia Griffith (Monash University)
1500m Jenny Blundell (The University of Sydney)
5000m Jenny Blundell, Clare O'Brien (Boise State University)
10,000m Isobel Batt-Doyle (University of Washington)
100m Hurdles Michelle Jenneke (The University of Sydney), Elizabeth Clay (Griffith University)
3000m Steeplechase Stella Radford (The University of Melbourne) Paige Campbell (The University of Sydney)
High Jump Hannah Joye (Griffith University Gold Coast), Nicola McDermott (The University of Sydney)
Discus Throw Taryn Gollshewsky (Central Queensland University)
Hammer Throw Lara Neilsen (University of Southern Queensland)
Javelin Throw Kathryn Brooks (The University of Melbourne), Mackenzie Little (Stanford University)
Heptathlon Alysha Burnett (Australian Catholic University)
20km walk Jessica Pickles (The University of Queensland)
4x100m relay Larissa Pasternatsky (The University of Newcastle), Gabriella O’Grady (University of Technology Sydney), Jasmine Everett (The University of Notre Dame Australia), Elizabeth Hedding (The University of Melbourne), Michelle Jenneke (Reserve)
4x400m relay Lora Storey, Alexandra Bartholomew (Macquarie University), Alicia Keir (The University of Newcastle), Jess Stafford (The University of Sydney), Gabriella O’Grady (Reserve)

James Nipperess (5000m), Jack Bruce (1500m), Brianna Illarda, Nick Andrews (100m), Jordan Gusman (1500m), David Brock (Decathlon), Rachel Tallent (20km walk) have all withdrawn from the team.

2015 Gwangju Summer Universiade athletics results


  • AIS
  • AUS
  • Kukri